Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Welcomes Eclectic Mix of Legends in 2024 Induction

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has unveiled its 2024 class of inductees, marking another year of celebrating legendary musical pioneers. Announced during the “Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Night” on American Idol, the list includes a diverse group of artists across different genres, reflecting the broad influence of rock and roll on the global music landscape.

The Performer Category, spotlighting artists whose music has notably shaped rock and roll, welcomes Mary J. Blige, Cher, Dave Matthews Band, Foreigner, Peter Frampton, Kool & The Gang, Ozzy Osbourne, and A Tribe Called Quest. Among these, Cher, Foreigner, Kool & the Gang, and Frampton are first-time nominees, with Cher’s induction coming after her vocal criticisms of the institution last year.

Additionally, the Hall will honor Jimmy Buffett, MC5, Dionne Warwick, and Norman Whitfield with the Musical Excellence Award, recognizing their significant impact on music. Alexis Korner, John Mayall, and Big Mama Thornton are set to receive the Musical Influence Award, and Suzanne de Passe will be awarded the Ahmet Ertegun Award for her influential non-performing role in the industry.

This year’s ceremony, set to broadcast live on October 19 from Disney+, promises to be a landmark celebration of musical innovation and enduring influence.

Photo Credit: Zamrznuti tonovi /