Yusuf/ Cat Stevens Has Announced A New Album, “King of a Land”

Yusuf/Cat Stevens is going to be releasing a brand new album titled, King of a Land, Stevens 17th album, on June 16th. He is teasing the new album with the lead single “Take the World Apart.” The official animated video for “Take the World Apart” can be found on YouTube.

Stevens made a statement that reads, “Looking at the jagged journey of my music, beginning as I did in the ’60s, I would say this new record is a mosaic, A very clearly defined description of where I’ve been and who I am.”

King of a Land is a follow up to 2020’s Tea for the Tillerman 2, which was a reimagining of Stevens’ multiplatinum 1970 album Tea for the Tillerman. The latest album will be released via George Harrison’s Dark Horse Records, with the final mixing taking place at the late Beatle’s studio, located in Friar park.

Stevens stated that, “We were very privileged to be in Friar Park, and to be one of the first outsiders to enter that control room and mix an album. George Harrison has been an immense influence on me spiritually, from the very beginning. He pioneered certain thoughts and ideas, which stretched way east, and that was very important. If you listen to some of these songs on this album, you’ll hear a kind of spirit of George.”

Yusuf/Cat Stevens, ‘Kind of a Land’ Track Listing

  1. “Train on a Hill”
  2. “King of a Land”
  3. “Pagan Run”
  4. “He Is True”
  5. “All Nights, All Days”
  6. “Another Night in the Rain”
  7. “Things”
  8. “Son of Mary”
  9. “Highness”
  10. “The Boy Who Knew How to Climb Walls”
  11. “How Good it Feels”

12. “Take the World Apart”

Andrea Raffin / Shutterstock.com